Back to <Home  < Sacraments

Liturgy

Current Liturgical Season:  Ordinary Time

Liturgical Color:  Green

 

". . . .For this reason, the Church celebrates in the liturgy above all the Paschal mystery by which Christ accomplished the work of our salvation.  It is this mystery of Christ that the Church proclaims and celebrates in her liturgy so that the faithful may live from it and bear witness to it in the world:

For it is in the liturgy, especially in the divine sacrifice of the Eucharist, that 'the work of our redemption is accomplished,' and it is through the liturgy especially that the faithful are enabled to express in their lives and manifest to others the mystery of Christ and the real nature of the true Church".  (1067-1068 Catechism of the Catholic Church)

 

Holy Days of Obligation 2017

Following are the dates of Holy Days of Obligation and moveable feasts for the United States in 2017. Moveable feasts are holy days whose dates change from year to year:

  • Mary, Mother of God (Sunday, January 1, 2017)
  • Ascension (Thursday, May 25, 2017)

(transferred to Sunday, May 28, 2017, in most dioceses of the United States)

  • Assumption of Mary (Tuesday, August 15, 2017)
  • All Saints Day (Wednesday, November 1, 2017)
  • Immaculate Conception (Friday, December 8, 2017)
  • Christmas (Monday, December 25, 2017)

 

MOVEABLE FEASTS 2017

  • Ash Wednesday (Wednesday, March 1, 2017)
  • Palm Sunday (Sunday, April 9, 2017)
  • Holy Thursday (Thursday, April 13, 2017)
  • Good Friday (Friday, April 14, 2017)
  • Holy Saturday (Saturday, April 15, 2017)
  • Easter Sunday (Sunday, April 16, 2017)
  • Divine Mercy Sunday (Sunday, April 23, 2017)
  • Pentecost Sunday (Sunday, June 4, 2017)
  • Trinity Sunday (Sunday, June 11, 2017)
  • Corpus Christi (Thursday, June 15, 2017; transferred to Sunday, June 18, 2017)
  • Sacred Heart of Jesus (Friday, June 23, 2017)
  • First Sunday of Advent (Sunday, December 3, 2017

 

Liturgical Year -> ( USCCB website )

Print Print | Sitemap
© St. Benedict Catholic Church